-- 10 May,2019

Chandigarh, May 10: Election Commission of India (ECI) on Friday organized a joint training and orientation programme for the 22 District Election Officers-cum-Returning Officers of Punjab on Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) and Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) counting. The training was imparted by Directors of Election Commission of India, Sh. Nikhil Kumar, IAS and Sh. VN Shukla in the presence of Chief Electoral Officer Punjab, Dr. S Karuna Raju. Chief Electoral Officer of Chandigarh Sh. Sh. Ajoy Kumar Sinha besides other officials were also present during the training programme.

The specially designed programme was conducted as per the guidelines issued by the ECI to train election officials with an aim to ensure smooth conduct of counting process in accordance with the protocols established by the ECI.

The officials were imparted training on how to handle the EVM, VVPAT, counting of votes, counting of postal ballot, procedure to be followed during counting by electronically transmitted postal ballot system (ETBPS), basic infrastructure of counting centers, declaration of results and follow up actions, including sealing of EVMs and others after declaration of final result.

On the occasion, Directors of Election Commission of India, Sh. VN Shukla and Sh. Nikhil Kumar, IAS urged the officials to ensure against any discrepancy in the counting process and ensure smooth culmination of this electoral process. After the intensive training process, all the officers clarified their doubts with the officials of Election Commission.

After completion of training, the officials of Punjab and Chandigarh visited Model Counting Centre, Khooni Majra in SAS Nagar, and they were explained about the three tier security arrangements at Counting Centres, strong room, VVPAT Counting Chamber besides the process of issuance of passes to Counting Agents for their entry and arrangements regarding counting of 5 VVPAT Slips.

Others present at the occasion included Additional Chief Electoral Officer Mrs. Kavita Singh, and Additional Chief Electoral Officer Sh. Cibin C.

Facebook Comment
Project by : XtremeStudioz